First Interim Government of India 1946

Here I provide a list of members and their holding portfolios in the 1946 interim government.

This is the first and last interim government to date.

No.MembersPortfolios Held
1Jawaharlal NehruExternal Affairs And Commonwealth Relations
2Sardar Vallabhbhai PatelHome, Information And Broadcasting
3Dr. Rajendra PrasadFood And Agriculture
4Dr. Jhon MathaiIndustries And Supplies
5Jagjivan RamLabour
6Sardar Baldev SinghDefence
7C.H.BhabhaWorks, Mines And Power
8Liaquat Ali KhanFinance
9Abdur Rab NishtarPosts And Air
10Asaf AliRailways And Transport
11C. RajagopalachariEducation And Arts
12I.I. ChundrigarCommerce
13Ghaznafar Ali KhanHealth
14Joginder Nath MandalLaw

Note: The members of the interim government were members of the Viceroy’s Executive Council. The Viceroy continued to be the head of the Council. But, Jawaharlal Nehru was designated as the Vice-President of the Council.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *